WYPR Receives 3 Edward R. Murrow Regional Awards 2022

Your Public Radio (WYPR), Baltimore’s NPR news station, received three 2022 Regional Edward R. Murrow Awards from the Radio Television Digital News Association (RTDNA), in the Large Market Radio categories of “Continuous Coverage,” ” Hard News” and “Excellence in Diversity, Equity and Inclusion.

The winner of the “Continuing Coverage” category: “Baltimore’s tax sale blocks families from generational wealth,” by journalist Emily Sullivan, described activists pleading with the Baltimore mayor to honor his promise to remove some homeowners from the tax sale.

The winner of the ‘Hard News’ category: ‘City students face long transit trips to school,’ by journalist Emily Sullivan, education advocates said a Poor bus service results in long journeys that negatively impact students and their families, often along race and class lines.

The winner of the ‘Excellence in Diversity, Equity and Inclusion’ category: ‘Looking for a U-turn on the freeway to nowhere’, by journalist Emily Sullivan, revealed that the President Biden’s infrastructure bill, which would be the biggest federal investment in infrastructure projects in more than a decade, may provide funding for Baltimore to redevelop the freeway to nowhere on U.S. Route 40.

Emily Sullivan covered City Hall and all things Baltimore politics through March 2022. She joined WYPR after reporting on NPR’s national airwaves. Previously, she was a reporter for NPR’s News Desk, Business Desk and Presidential Conflict of Interest Team. Sullivan has also won awards from the Chesapeake Associated Press Broadcasters Association for her use of sound and news reporting. She has provided news analysis on 1A, The Takeaway, Here & Now and All Things Considered. Emily now works as a Baltimore City Hall reporter for WYPR’s current partner news organization, The Baltimore Banner.

Danyell Irby, the executive director of news who joined WYPR in 2020, says he is “proud of the ongoing award-winning work produced by the news team”.

The RTDNA Edward R. Murrow Awards are among the most prestigious in broadcast and digital news, honoring news organizations that demonstrate the spirit of excellence that Murrow has set as the standard for the profession of broadcast and digital journalism. As a Regional Murrow Award recipient, WYPR is under consideration for a National Murrow Award. National winners will be announced this year.

Comments are closed.